Information about the NBA Universe and the International Basketball

NBA Defensive Player of the Year Awards - Summary

Information about the NBA Defensive Player of the Year including current winner, year by year, player who won the award the most times and players grouped by team

NBA Defensive Player:
All the Information

Every year since the 1982-83 season the best NBA defender is selected by a national panel of pro basketball writers and broadcasters and the winner receives the Defensive Player of the Year Award. Here you have detailed information about the award:.

NBA Awards: Defensive Player of the Year

Current Defensive Player:
Defensive Player of the Year
Player with More Awards:
4 Times
NBA Defensive Player of the Year
Team with More Awards:
6 Times
had the Defensive Player of the Year
2013-14. Joakim Noah
2012-13. Marc Gasol
2011-12. Tyson Chandler
2010-11. Dwight Howard
2009-10. Dwight Howard
2008-09. Dwight Howard
2007-08. Kevin Garnett
2006-07. Marcus Camby
2005-06. Ben Wallace
2004-05. Ben Wallace
4 Times - Dikembe Mutombo
4 Times - Ben Wallace
3 Times - Dwight Howard
2 Times - Mark Eaton
2 Times - Sidney Moncrief
2 Times - Alonzo Mourning
2 Times - Hakeem Olajuwon
2 Times - Dennis Rodman
1 Time - Marcus Camby
1 Time - Tyson Chandler
6 Times - Detroit Pistons
3 Times - Atlanta Hawks
3 Times - Orlando Magic
2 Times - Milwaukee Bucks
2 Times - Chicago Bulls
2 Times - Miami Heat
2 Times - Utah Jazz
2 Times - Denver Nuggets
2 Times - Houston Rockets
2 Times - San Antonio Spurs
Share this page:
Copyright 2014  All rights reserved. Privacy Policy. Comments? Suggestions? Contact us!
Land of Basketball (previously known as NBA Universe) is a fan website, for official NBA information visit National Basketball Association's website.
Players photos are showed thanks to our affiliation with All of them can be bought at Website.