Summary and Awards / Teams
Season: Standings / Streaks / ...
Playoffs: Brackets / Series / ...

NBA 1980-81 Regular Season and Playoffs Summary.

Information about the 1980-1981 NBA season, including champion, MVP awards, statistical leaders and other basic data.

Playoffs Summary

NBA Champion
1981 NBA Champion
Boston Celtics
1981 NBA Champion
NBA Finals
Boston Celtics
4 - 2
Houston Rockets
Finals MVP
Cedric Maxwell
Boston Celtics

Regular Season Summary

Best Record
Season MVP
Julius Erving
Philadelphia 76ers
Defensive Player
Rookie of the Year
Darrell Griffith
Utah Jazz
Coach of the Year
Jack McKinney
Indiana Pacers
All-Star Game MVP
Tiny Archibald
Boston Celtics
Most Improved Player
6th Man of the Year
Clutch Player of the Year
Scoring Leader
Adrian Dantley
Utah Jazz
30.7 points per game
Rebounds Leader
Moses Malone
Houston Rockets
14.8 rebounds per game
Assists Leader
Kevin Porter
Washington Bullets
9.1 assists per game
Steals Leader
Magic Johnson
Los Angeles Lakers
3.4 steals per game
Blocks Leader
George Johnson
San Antonio Spurs
3.4 blocks per game