NBA Coach of the Year Awards - Summary

Information about the NBA Coach of the Year including current winner, year by year, coach who won the award the most times and coachs grouped by team

The best coach of the season is selected by a national panel of pro basketball writers and broadcasters. Since 1967 the trophy is called 'Red Auerbach Trophy', named that way after the former Boston Celtics coach who led the his team to 9 NBA titles..

NBA Awards: Coach of the Year

Current Coach of the Year:

Mark Daigneault
Coach of the Year

Coach of the Year:

2023-24. Mark Daigneault
2022-23. Mike Brown
2021-22. Monty Williams
2020-21. Tom Thibodeau
2019-20. Nick Nurse
2018-19. Mike Budenholzer

Coach with the Most Awards:

Don Nelson
Gregg Popovich
Pat Riley
3 Times
NBA Coach of the Year

Awards Grouped by Coach:

3 Times - Don Nelson
3 Times - Gregg Popovich
3 Times - Pat Riley
2 Times - Mike Brown
2 Times - Hubie Brown
2 Times - Mike Budenholzer

Team with the Most Awards:

6 Times
had the Coach of the Year