NBA Awards: Coach of the Year, Grouped by Team

This is the complete list of NBA coaches that won the Coach of the Year Award, grouped by team.

Team with the Most Awards:

Atlanta Hawks
6 times had the Coach of the Year

NBA Awards: Coach of the Year

The best coach of the season is selected by a national panel of pro basketball writers and broadcasters. Since 1967 the trophy is called "Red Auerbach Trophy", named that way in honor to the former Boston Celtics coach who led the his team to 9 NBA titles.

The Atlanta Hawks had the Coach of the Year six times.

Coach of the Year: by Year / by Coach / by Team

NBA Awards: All-time list of teams who had the winner of the Coach of the Year award.

Awards NBA Team
Coach / Season
6 Atlanta Hawks
Hubie Brown
Mike Budenholzer
Mike Fratello
Harry Gallatin
1962-63 (St. Louis Hawks)
Richie Guerin
1967-68 (St. Louis Hawks)
Lenny Wilkens
4 Chicago Bulls
Phil Jackson
Red Kerr
Dick Motta
Tom Thibodeau
3 Boston Celtics
Red Auerbach
Bill Fitch
Tom Heinsohn
3 Golden State Warriors
Alex Hannum
1963-64 (San Francisco Warriors)
Steve Kerr
Don Nelson
3 Houston Rockets
Don Chaney
Mike D'Antoni
Tom Nissalke
3 Los Angeles Lakers
Del Harris
Pat Riley
Bill Sharman
3 Milwaukee Bucks
Don Nelson
Mike Budenholzer
3 San Antonio Spurs
Gregg Popovich
2 Cleveland Cavaliers
Mike Brown
Bill Fitch
2 Denver Nuggets
George Karl
Doug Moe
2 Detroit Pistons
Rick Carlisle
Ray Scott
2 Indiana Pacers
Larry Bird
Jack McKinney
2 New York Knicks
Red Holzman
Pat Riley
2 Philadelphia 76ers
Larry Brown
Dolph Schayes
2 Phoenix Suns
Mike D'Antoni
Cotton Fitzsimmons
2 Portland Trail Blazers
Mike Dunleavy
Mike Schuler
2 Sacramento Kings
Cotton Fitzsimmons
1978-79 (Kansas City Kings)
Phil Johnson
1974-75 (Kansas City-Omaha Kings)
2 Toronto Raptors
Dwane Casey
Sam Mitchell
2 Washington Wizards
Gene Shue
1981-82 (Washington Bullets)
1968-69 (Baltimore Bullets)
1 Dallas Mavericks
Avery Johnson
1 Memphis Grizzlies
Hubie Brown
1 Miami Heat
Pat Riley
1 New Orleans Pelicans
Byron Scott
2007-08 (New Orleans Hornets)
1 Oklahoma City Thunder
Scott Brooks
1 Orlando Magic
Doc Rivers
1 Utah Jazz
Frank Layden
Share on Twitter  
	Share on Facebook Share on Reddit Share on Linkedin
Follow us on:
Follow on Twitter Follow on Facebook