NBA Awards: Coach of the Year, Full List of Winners

This is the complete list of NBA coaches that won the Coach of the Year Award.

Current Coach of the Year:

Mark Daigneault
2023-24 Coach of the Year

NBA Awards: Coach of the Year

The best coach of the season is selected by a national panel of pro basketball writers and broadcasters. Since 1967 the trophy is called "Red Auerbach Trophy", named that way in honor to the former Boston Celtics coach who led the his team to 9 NBA titles.

In 2015-16 Steve Kerr was selected Coach of the Year after his Golden State Warriors won an all-time best 73 games.

Coach of the Year: by Year / by Coach / by Team

NBA Awards: Coach of the Year, full list of winners

more >>
2023-24 Mark Daigneault Oklahoma City Thunder
2022-23 Mike Brown Sacramento Kings
2021-22 Monty Williams Phoenix Suns
2020-21 Tom Thibodeau New York Knicks
2019-20 Nick Nurse Toronto Raptors
2018-19 Mike Budenholzer Milwaukee Bucks
2017-18 Dwane Casey Toronto Raptors
2016-17 Mike D'Antoni Houston Rockets
2015-16 Steve Kerr Golden State Warriors
2014-15 Mike Budenholzer Atlanta Hawks
2013-14 Gregg Popovich San Antonio Spurs
2012-13 George Karl Denver Nuggets
2011-12 Gregg Popovich San Antonio Spurs
2010-11 Tom Thibodeau Chicago Bulls
2009-10 Scott Brooks Oklahoma City Thunder
2008-09 Mike Brown Cleveland Cavaliers
2007-08 Byron Scott New Orleans Hornets
2006-07 Sam Mitchell Toronto Raptors
2005-06 Avery Johnson Dallas Mavericks
2004-05 Mike D'Antoni Phoenix Suns
2003-04 Hubie Brown Memphis Grizzlies
2002-03 Gregg Popovich San Antonio Spurs
2001-02 Rick Carlisle Detroit Pistons
2000-01 Larry Brown Philadelphia 76ers
1999-00 Doc Rivers Orlando Magic
1998-99 Mike Dunleavy Portland Trail Blazers
1997-98 Larry Bird Indiana Pacers
1996-97 Pat Riley Miami Heat
1995-96 Phil Jackson Chicago Bulls
1994-95 Del Harris Los Angeles Lakers
1993-94 Lenny Wilkens Atlanta Hawks
1992-93 Pat Riley New York Knicks
1991-92 Don Nelson Golden State Warriors
1990-91 Don Chaney Houston Rockets
1989-90 Pat Riley Los Angeles Lakers
1988-89 Cotton Fitzsimmons Phoenix Suns
1987-88 Doug Moe Denver Nuggets
1986-87 Mike Schuler Portland Trail Blazers
1985-86 Mike Fratello Atlanta Hawks
1984-85 Don Nelson Milwaukee Bucks
1983-84 Frank Layden Utah Jazz
1982-83 Don Nelson Milwaukee Bucks
1981-82 Gene Shue Washington Bullets
1980-81 Jack McKinney Indiana Pacers
1979-80 Bill Fitch Boston Celtics
1978-79 Cotton Fitzsimmons Kansas City Kings
1977-78 Hubie Brown Atlanta Hawks
1976-77 Tom Nissalke Houston Rockets
1975-76 Bill Fitch Cleveland Cavaliers
1974-75 Phil Johnson Kansas City-Omaha Kings
1973-74 Ray Scott Detroit Pistons
1972-73 Tom Heinsohn Boston Celtics
1971-72 Bill Sharman Los Angeles Lakers
1970-71 Dick Motta Chicago Bulls
1969-70 Red Holzman New York Knicks
1968-69 Gene Shue Baltimore Bullets
1967-68 Richie Guerin St. Louis Hawks
1966-67 Red Kerr Chicago Bulls
1965-66 Dolph Schayes Philadelphia 76ers
1964-65 Red Auerbach Boston Celtics
1963-64 Alex Hannum San Francisco Warriors
1962-63 Harry Gallatin St. Louis Hawks