NBA Awards: Season MVP, Grouped by Team

This is the complete list of winners of the Season MVP Award, grouped by team.

Team with the Most Awards:

Boston Celtics
10 times had the Season MVP

NBA Awards: Season MVP

The Most Valuable Player of the Regular Season is selected by a panel of pro basketball writters and broadcasters since 1981. The MVP winner receives the Maurice Podoloff Trophy, which is named that way after the first commissioner of the NBA.

From 1956 to 1980 the winner was selected by the NBA players.

In 2016 Stephen Curry joinned Steve Nash and Magic Johnson as the only point guards to have won the award more than once. In 2007-08 Kobe Bryant gave the Lakers their 8th MVP award and in 2008-09. Lebron James got the Heat their first in 2011-12.

Season MVP: by Year / by Player / by Team

NBA Awards: All-time list of teams who had the winner of the Season MVP award.

Awards NBA Team
Player / Season
10 Boston Celtics
Larry Bird
Bob Cousy
Dave Cowens
8 Los Angeles Lakers
Kareem Abdul-Jabbar
Magic Johnson
Kobe Bryant
Shaquille O'Neal
6 Chicago Bulls
Michael Jordan
Derrick Rose
6 Philadelphia 76ers
Wilt Chamberlain
Julius Erving
Allen Iverson
Moses Malone
5 Milwaukee Bucks
Kareem Abdul-Jabbar
Giannis Antetokounmpo
4 Houston Rockets
Moses Malone
James Harden
Hakeem Olajuwon
3 Golden State Warriors
Stephen Curry
Wilt Chamberlain
1959-60 (Philadelphia Warriors)
3 Phoenix Suns
Steve Nash
Charles Barkley
3 San Antonio Spurs
Tim Duncan
David Robinson
2 Atlanta Hawks
Bob Pettit
1958-59, 1955-56 (St. Louis Hawks)
2 Cleveland Cavaliers
LeBron James
2 Miami Heat
LeBron James
2 Oklahoma City Thunder
Kevin Durant
Russell Westbrook
2 Utah Jazz
Karl Malone
1 Dallas Mavericks
Dirk Nowitzki
1 Denver Nuggets
Nikola Jokic
1 Los Angeles Clippers
Bob McAdoo
1974-75 (Buffalo Braves)
1 Minnesota Timberwolves
Kevin Garnett
1 New York Knicks
Willis Reed
1 Portland Trail Blazers
Bill Walton
1 Sacramento Kings
Oscar Robertson
1963-64 (Cincinnati Royals)
1 Washington Wizards
Wes Unseld
1968-69 (Baltimore Bullets)