NBA Awards: Defensive Player of the Year, Summary of Winners

This is the complete list of NBA players that won the Defensive Player of the Year Award, grouped by player.

Player with the Most Awards:

Dikembe MutomboBen Wallace
Dikembe Mutombo / Ben Wallace
4 times Defensive Player of the Year

NBA Awards: Defensive Player of the Year

Every year since the 1982-83 season the best NBA defender is selected by a national panel of pro basketball writers and broadcasters and the winner receives the Defensive Player of the Year Award.

With the fourth award he won for his performance in the 2005-06 season, Ben Wallace tied Dikembe Mutombo as the player with more Defensive Player of the Year awards.

Defensive Player of the Year: by Year / by Player / by Team

NBA Awards: All-time list of players who won the Defensive Player of the Year award.

Team / Season
4 Dikembe Mutombo
Atlanta Hawks / Philadelphia 76ers
Atlanta Hawks
Denver Nuggets
4 Ben Wallace
Detroit Pistons
3 Rudy Gobert
Utah Jazz
3 Dwight Howard
Orlando Magic
2 Mark Eaton
Utah Jazz
2 Kawhi Leonard
San Antonio Spurs
2 Sidney Moncrief
Milwaukee Bucks
2 Alonzo Mourning
Miami Heat
2 Hakeem Olajuwon
Houston Rockets
2 Dennis Rodman
Detroit Pistons
1 Giannis Antetokounmpo
Milwaukee Bucks
1 Marcus Camby
Denver Nuggets
1 Tyson Chandler
New York Knicks
1 Michael Cooper
Los Angeles Lakers
1 Kevin Garnett
Boston Celtics
1 Marc Gasol
Memphis Grizzlies
1 Draymond Green
Golden State Warriors
1 Jaren Jackson Jr.
Memphis Grizzlies
1 Michael Jordan
Chicago Bulls
1 Joakim Noah
Chicago Bulls
1 Gary Payton
Seattle Supersonics
1 Alvin Robertson
San Antonio Spurs
1 David Robinson
San Antonio Spurs
1 Marcus Smart
Boston Celtics
1 Metta World Peace
Indiana Pacers